Students who complete all coursework in university and education department courses, successfully complete all field experiences with documentation of attainment of the Standards of Effective Practice, and who complete all requisite state mandated testing, may begin the licensing procedure. Students will be given information on the Minnesota teaching licensure process during EDUC 472, Student Teaching Seminar.
Students who wish to apply for a license in states other than Minnesota should check with that state's licensing agency for instructions. Institution verification forms should be delivered to the education department for completion.
The following must be completed before MN licensure will be granted:
- Completion of all required MTLE (or Praxis) licensure tests. Official score reports showing passing scores must be received in the education office before your license application can be verified. Make sure that North Central University is indicated as the recipient of your scores.
- Your degree must be conferred by the Registrar's Office. Incomplete grades or holds on your account will delay this.
- You must receive a C or higher in all education methods courses.
- You must receive a C or higher in all courses required for concentration.
- Your overall GPA must be 2.5 or above.
When all of these conditions have been met, you may begin the application process:
- Complete an online application at the Minnesota Department of Education (MDE) website. A non-refundable fee of $57 for the license application and $26.25 for the criminal background check must be paid by Visa or Master Card at the end of the application process.
- After your application is complete, log back in to print off the application cover sheet/checklist and a Verification of Licensure Program form, which will be completed by the NCU education department.
- Complete a fingerprint card from the Department of Education. Cards may be picked up from the NCU Education Office. Fingerprinting should be done at a law enforcement or private agency to ensure that is completed correctly.
Deliver your fingerprint card, application cover sheet/checklist, and verification of licensure program form to the NCU Education Office. The Education Office will send your completed materials to MDE. Please note that all materials must be received by MDE within 60 days of the online application or your application will be deleted and your fees forfeited. For this reason, you should wait until your degree has posted and your MTLE scores have been received to begin the licensure process.
Should a dispute arise between a current education student or graduate and NCU regarding recommendation for licensure or the student's teaching credentials, the student may contact the Minnesota Board of Teaching for mediation.
Your credential file contains information that you would like sent to potential employers. All forms should be professional looking and free from errors. The following items should be included:
- Educational Placement Form: This is the first page of your credential file, containing your contact information, education history, clinical and student teaching placements, and work history. Make sure to keep your contact information current. Updated forms can be mailed to the education department.
- Student Teaching Evaluations: The final evaluations by your university supervisors and cooperating teachers for both student teaching experiences will be included in your file.
- Letters of Recommendation: Include 1-2 letters from a principal and/or cooperating teacher from a clinical or student teaching experience, if possible. Include an additional 1-2 letters from people who can comment on your strengths and personal qualities as they relate to teaching potential. Be sure to personally contact each reference person with your request and include a self-addressed, stamped envelope when appropriate. For cooperating teachers, it is recommended that you ask for a letter several weeks before your assignment at that school ends. The letter should be completed on the assigned school letterhead.
Additional items that you may have included at request:
- An official or unofficial transcript. Official transcripts must be requested from the Registrar's Office online. At request, a copy of your unofficial transcript may be placed in your credential file at no extra charge.
- You may add other items such as an updated resume or a copy of your teaching license at any time.
To have your credential file sent out, contact the Education Office. Furnish all pertinent information, including the name of the contact person or office and the complete address. Allow 2-3 working days for your request to be processed.