AG Colleges and Universities to Join in Simultaneous Prayer

Date: January 24, 2011 - 11:42am
Category & Tags:

Springfield, MO- A suggestion that came from an Assemblies of God college student has grown into an event that will cross the nation. From Zion Bible College in Massachusetts to Bethany University in California, students, faculty members and administrators from each of the 19 AG colleges and universities will unite in one powerful hour of simultaneous prayer on February 1.

This will be the first-ever AG College Prayer Meeting, an event that will be held at the exact same time on each campus.

"This simple idea was placed in our hearts by a shy, young coed on one of our campuses," explains Dr. Bob Cook, executive vice president of The Alliance for Assemblies of God Higher Education. "She humbly shared with us that God had placed this concept on her heart, and had shown her a vision of hundreds and even thousands of AG college students praying at the same time."

In addition to academics, spiritual growth is an essential part of AG higher education.

"Students at our AG colleges and universities are not only some of the nation's best and brightest young people, they are also people of great and fervent faith," says Dr. George O. Wood, general superintendent of the Assemblies of God. "These are young people who want to see change in the world and want to take part in bringing about change. As they join together in prayer, we are expecting great things. I encourage alumni and others from our AG churches to participate in this hour of nationwide prayer."

Although the Alliance for AG Higher Education initiated and organized the upcoming prayer event, they have left it to each campus to plan the hour of prayer however they feel best.

"We feel strongly that God is up to something on this particular evening. I have no idea what it is, but we are simply following what we believe is the hand of God," says Cook.

The Alliance echoes Wood's desire that AG college alumni will also join in the hour of prayer.

The prayer meeting will begin at 6 p.m. Pacific; 7 p.m. Mountain; 8 p.m. Central; 9 p.m. Eastern; and 10 p.m. Atlantic.

Copyright © 2008 The General Council of the Assemblies of God.